NPR News, Classical and Music of the Delta
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Eight Louisiana Communities Certified As Retirement Areas

Adam /

Eight Louisiana communities are officially Louisiana Retirement Certified Areas. Lafayette, Lake Charles, Natchitoches, Ruston, Toledo Bend, Shreveport-Bossier City, Houma and Thibodaux are included. Lincoln, Sabine and Terrebonne Parishes are also listed. Lt. Governor Billy Nungesser says the communities were selected for their quality of life for retiring seniors.


Nungesser says that numerous opportunities like "housing, public safety, and festivals" are available for senior citizens in these areas. 


Nungesser says there are about 76 million baby boomers that are nearing retirement and competition is tough. Nungesser says our state’s mild weather, makes it the perfect place to link more communities with bike trails.


Nungesser says he is intending to file a bill in which a specific scratch off lottery ticket would be used to raise money to be used toward retirees and the improvement of communities.


Nungesser says that he wants money from lottery tickets to serve the needs of people that would live in these retirement communities. 


More information about these retirement communities can be found at LouisianaTravel-dot-com.