ULM Foundation


On his first day as president of the University of Louisiana Monroe, Dr. Ronald Berry, joined by his wife, Dr. Christine Berry, announced their establishment of the ULM Opportunity Fund, to be administered by the ULM Foundation.

The Berrys started the fund with a personal commitment of $100,000, with the original goal of matching that amount through alumni, community, and business support.


Giving Tuesday is a national day that was started in 2012 where people are asked to donate money, goods, or time to organizations across the country. This year, Giving Tuesday will be on Dec. 3rd following Thanksgiving, Black Friday, and Cyber Monday. The ULM Foundation is a local organization that is taking the opportunity to get the community involved by allowing them to donate to the university.


The University of Louisiana Monroe will break ground for the new Foundation and Alumni Affairs Center at 4400 Bon Aire will be at 10:30 a.m., Friday, Oct. 13.

To be built on the site of the former Anna Gray Noe Alumni Center on Bayou DeSiard, the new facility will house the ULM Foundation and Alumni Affairs staff and will greet friends and alumni of the university when they come back to campus.

The two-story building will be approximately 9,500 square feet with 6,748 square feet heated. It is expected to open in the summer of 2018.

Emerald McIntyre / ULM Photo Services

Four University of Louisiana Monroe faculty members and two staff members were the 2017 winners of the ULM Foundation Awards of Excellence.

The awards were presented Thursday as part of ULM President Dr. Nick Bruno’s State of the University address at Brown Auditorium. The annual presentation of the awards features winners chosen based on a set of standards determined by a selection committee.

courtesy / ULM

University of Louisiana at Monroe faculty and staff gathered on Thursday to honor excellence in research, teaching, creative/artistic activity, and service at the fifth annual ULM Foundation Awards of Excellence. Each winner was chosen based on a set of standards determined by a selection committee.

For each category, recipients were awarded unique honors based on their overall effectiveness in their field and their contributions to the university. Six awards were given, with four going to faculty members, and two going to staff.